Media Release

Wednesday 20 March

Hero Banner

The 2016 APRC comes to DUKE!


DUKE is putting you in the driver's seat of the 2016 FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC)!

This May, watch as drivers from all over the globe push it to the limit - and beyond - in one of the most challenging FIA sanctioned motorsports championships in the world!

With New Zealand hosting the opening round of the 2016 APRC on 30th April in Whangarei and Kiwi Mike Young one of the championship’s top drivers, DUKE couldn't be a better home for the seven-part series.

After Whangarei the championship travels to the International Rally of Queensland, Australia followed by the China Rally - located near the Mongolian border. Japan’s northern most island of Hokkaido is host to the next event, followed by the extreme heat and humidity of the Malaysian Rally with the finale in December, the Rally of India.

Winner of Motorsports NZ’s Elite Motorsport academy in 2015, 23-year old Kiwi driver Mike Young has finished second outright in the APRC for the past two years and is the youngest driver to win the FIA Asia Cup. In 2016, Young will drive a Group N Subaru Impreza for the Japanese based Cusco EZY Racing team. Young’s co-driver in the APRC is fellow New Zealander Malcolm Read.

Along with the Kiwi crew, the APRC attracts top competitors from Japan, India, China, Malaysia, Sri Lanka and this year a challenge from Europe with German driver Fabian Kreim lined up to pilot one of the factory backed MRF Skoda Fabia R5s.

For more info on the APRC, quotes and downloadable imagery visit TVNZ Media Portal/APRC.

The 2016 APRC seven-part series will air late May - date/time TBC.

Where to watch DUKE: Freeview 13, SKY 23 and live-streamed at

HEADER IMAGE: 2015 APRC, Malaysia - Kiwi driver Mike Young in action - APSM.
For a hi-res version please visit the TVNZ Media Portal.